Whenever I receive a FaceTime call on my iPhone, my Apple TV pauses the ongoing content and asks to start SharePlay. However, the FaceTime caller has not initiated it. If you face the same issues, you must disable SharePlay on your Apple TV. Here, I will share how to turn off SharePlay on Apple TV, avoiding interruptions in your streaming experience. 

How to end a SharePlay session on Apple TV How to disable SharePlay on Apple TV How to disable SharePlay from iPhone Methods to stop SharePlay from automatically starting on Apple TV

How to end a SharePlay session on Apple TV

If you use SharePlay on Apple TV, you might already know how to end a session. However, just as a refresher, I’d like to mention the steps here: If you don’t want to receive SharePlay invites from others, you can turn off SharePlay altogether on your Apple TV. Besides, automatically starting SharePlay could expose your personal information and interrupt your “me” time.  

How to disable SharePlay on Apple TV

That’s all! It will disable SharePlay on your Apple TV.

How to disable SharePlay from iPhone

But I’ve experienced that only turning off SharePlay on my Apple TV doesn’t resolve the issue. With each FaceTime call, I was still getting SharePlay pop-ups, interrupting my binge-watching. Therefore, I further turned off SharePlay on my iPhone to stop it from automatically starting.  Before proceeding, ensure your iPhone and Apple TV are logged in with the same Apple ID. 

Methods to stop SharePlay from automatically starting on Apple TV

Sometimes disabling the SharePlay feature doesn’t do the trick. In that case, you must perform additional troubleshooting steps to eliminate automatic SharePlay sessions on your Apple TV.  Enjoy your uninterrupted solo sessions! Turning off SharePlay on your Apple TV is a straightforward process that grants you control over your streaming experience. Following the steps mentioned above, you can disable SharePlay effortlessly and enjoy your freedom to choose when and how you share content with others. Do you like using SharePlay? Let me know in the comments below! Explore more…

tvOS 17: Best features, compatibility, release date, and more  SharePlay not working on iPhone? Let’s fix it  Apple TV tips and hidden features How to turn off SharePlay on Apple TV in 3 Easy steps - 50How to turn off SharePlay on Apple TV in 3 Easy steps - 19